Singapore public holidays and school holidays in 2017

Posted on 17.02.2014

Singapore National Day Fireworks at Marina Bay Sands

2017 provides several excellent long weekend breaks thanks to the timing of the Hari Raya Haji, Good Friday and Chinese New Year public holidays. Those planning a short trip with the family will have a lot to look forward to. All together, possible long weekend breaks in 2017 are during Christmas, Deepavali, Hari Raya Haji, Hari Raya Puasa, Vesak Day, Labour Day, Good Friday and Chinese New Year. All together, 2017 seems to be quite promising for Singaporeans planning to travel during the holidays.

Given below is a detailed list of all Singapore public holidays and school holidays in 2017.

Scheduled Public Holidays 2017

1st January, 2017 (Sunday): New Year’s Day

28th Jan, 2017 (Saturday) & 29th February, 2017  (Sunday): Chinese Lunar New Year’s Day

14th April, 2017 (Friday): Good Friday

1st May, 2017 (Monday): Labour Day

10th May, 2017 (Wednesday): Vesak Day

25th June, 2017 (Sunday): Hari Raya Puasa

9th August, 2017 (Wednesday): National Day

1th September, 2017 (Friday): Hari Raya Haji

18rd October, 2017 (Wednesday): Deepavali

25th December, 2016 (Monday): Christmas

Scheduled School Holidays 2017

Blackboard with holiday text on the beach

2rd July, 2017 (Sunday): Youth Day (The following Monday, 3 July 2017 will be a scheduled school holiday)

10th August,2017 (Thursday): Day after National Day

31rd August, 2017 (Thursday): Teachers’ Day

6th October, 2016 (Friday): Children’s Day (Applicable only for the primary sections in full schools and for primary schools)

Primary and Secondary Holidays 2016

Between Terms 1 and 2:  Saturday 11 March to Sunday 19 March

Between Semesters 1 and 2:Saturday 27 May to Sunday 25 June

Between Terms 3 and 4: Saturday 2 September to Sunday 10 September

At the End of School Year: Saturday 18 November to Sunday 31 December

For more information, please refer to MOE https://www.moe.gov.sg